Pike County Sex Offenders
Below is a description of the registration system for sex offenders in Ohio
On January 1, 2008 many changes become effective to the sex offender registration laws in Ohio. By that date Ohio Attorney Generals Office will have assigned each offender to a ‘Tier’ level. That level has been assigned based on the crime(s) of which the offender was convicted. A document showing the Tier levels and offenses may be seen by clicking on the link below marked ‘Tier Levels.’ Offenders, if they disagree with the Tier level in which they were assigned, may file documents in their local Common Pleas Court to challenge that assignment.
These files are in the PDF format. If you have trouble viewing the file please download Adobe PDF Reader
- Under the new Tier system some offenders must now register more often and for longer periods.
- Tier 1 Offenders must register once per year for 15 years. (formerly 10 years)
- Tier 2 Offenders must now register every 180 days for 25 years (formerly one per year for 20 years)
- Tier 3 Offenders must register every 90 days for life.
In addition each offender will now be required to provide the Sheriffs Office with more information about themselves at the times they register. That information will include all vehicles registered to them or which they may operate, all professional licenses, including passports and Visa’s, and all internet accounts they may have, including e-mail addresses and any social media sites that they may use.